Kinghorn lies on the golden coastline of the Kingdom of Fife. Its picturesque sheltered bay and beach nestles below the hillsides that once provided the town with its water and, when local industry developed, the source of power to drive the machinery of the flax mills.
Did you know?
- The meaning of the name Kinghorn, or Kin-gorn, as it was previously known, are lost in history. Some say that it derives from the Gaelic, 'head of the muddy ground' or the more romantic 'blue headland'. What is known is that the town's name was included in the title of the earldom of Strathmore and Kinghorne.
- It was created a royal burgh in 1285, and the former castle was frequently visited by the Scottish Court.
- The Kings castle, controlling the sea way, probably stood on the headland above Pettycur, one of the few places on the coast with an uninterrupted view from the Queens Ferry narrows to the North Sea.
- A later structure, Glamis Tower, stood just behind the High Street. Unfortunately both buildings have totally disappeared and the sites built over in modern times.
- It was to Kinghorn and his new, young wife that Alexander III was making his way on a dark and stormy night when his horse stumbled and he was found at the foot of the cliffs at 'Kings Wud end'.
- His grand daughter, the Maid of Norway, died on the journey to Scotland and, with no heir to the throne, Scotland was torn apart by civil war and a series of wars with England.