Located on the Carnock Burn, just over two miles west of Dunfermline on the A907, Carnock is a pleasant, well-situated village which still retains its historic core.
It was at the forefront of the Reformation in Scotland and regularly hosted enormous gatherings. Its 'Preachers' Tent' is now in the National Museum of Scotland but visitors can still access Preachers' Brae with its 400-year-old 'Lady Beech' tree via the track next to the Primary School.
The Church of Scotland's first historian, John Row (1568- 1646), who was also the local minister, is buried in the old churchyard, his gravestone bearing Latin and Hebrew inscriptions. The Parish Church was built in 1840, with the ruins of the original 12th century church still standing in the old churchyard, which was rebuilt in 1602 by Sir George Bruce of Culross.
Details taken from "West Fife Villages Guide" produced by Links Media for West Fife Villages Community Planning Group.