The NHS Public Health service is responsible for protecting the health of patients and the general public. This includes responsibility for infection control, immunisation and the investigation and management of outbreaks of diseases such as meningitis and E-coli. We focus on the health and well-being of the people of Fife, including protecting people from becoming ill.

The core values of Public health practice are that it should be equitable, empowering, effective, evidence-based, fair and inclusive.

In light of the core values and the three domains of public health practice nine key areas for public health practice have been agreed which form the basis of all standards of training and practice that the Faculty develops.

Nine Key Areas of Public Health

The nine key areas are:

  • Surveillance and assessment of the population’s health and wellbeing
  • Assessing the evidence of effectiveness of health and healthcare interventions, programmes and services
  • Policy and strategy development and implementation
  • Strategic leadership and collaborative working for health
  • Health Improvement
  • Health Protection
  • Health and Social Service Quality
  • Public Health Intelligence
  • Academic Public Health